Meet the Artist: Jane Wooster Scott

This week we’d like to feature one of Ceaco‘s best-selling artists, Jane Wooster Scott. Wooster Scott is widely known as the finest painter of Americana on the planet. Her works hang in museums, public buildings and private homes throughout the world. She has become legendary for her scenes of America’s celebrations and holidays, and was even named by the Guinness Book of World Records as the most reproduced artist in America, beating out runner-up Pablo Picasso.

Wooster Scott is at home among celebrities, as her collectors include Arnold Schwarzenegger, Steve Wynn and the late actors Marlon Brando, Charles Bronson, Merv Griffin, Elizabeth Taylor, and Paul Newman. Her enormously successful shows have been hosted by Sylvester Stallone, Dyan Cannon, Kirk Douglas and Carol Burnett. We recently had the chance to catch up with Jane to find out more about her art and the puzzles they become!

********************************************

When did you begin painting, and how did you decide to pursue it as a career?
I started painting about 35 years ago.  I did one for a friend who was moving into an Early American style house so I decided to give her one that fit that style of architecture.  I never had a lesson in art (still haven’t).  I had such fun doing it that I decided to do a few more.  As time went on I had about 30 canvases and my friend Jonathan Winters (the comedian and long time painter) convinced me to have a show with him.  I was shocked when I sold all 30 canvases in one hour!  Everyone who attended was a celeb so my collector list was immediately pretty impressive.  Word went out in the press and on TV and suddenly I was asked to do shows in NY and all over the country.  Wow!  I was amazed.

How did you decide to license your artwork for puzzles?
I never tried to license my work.  The various companies came to me and it sounded like a good idea.  Ceaco was one of the first I believe.  I wanted to license my work so the average people could see it and hopefully enjoy it.

Where do you draw the inspiration for your interpretations of Americana artwork?
My inspiration comes in many ways.   I try to bring to life an era in America we wish we had known.  A time of tranquility, gallantry, simplicity and harmony.  I also try to find  heart, humor, passion and drama in the American condition.  Aside from the paintings which I create in my head, I also do many commissions for institutions such as colleges, Disneyland, the White House, American Embassies, etc.  And private commissions for people like Oprah Winfrey, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Steve Wynn, Marlon Brando and scores of others.

What do you think makes a piece of art work well for a puzzle?
I feel art works best for puzzles when there are hard lines in the art work and  a multitude of details.  Also when the person can relate to the image – When the subject matters, it makes them happy and eager to see the completed piece.

About Gamewright

Gamewright is a leading manufacturer of family games, best known for such household hits as Slamwich, Rat-a-Tat Cat, In a Pickle, Rory's Story Cubes and The Scrambled States of America Game. Gamewright prides itself on making games that foster laughter, learning, friendship and fun. Kids, parents, grandparents, and educators all agree that Gamewright makes some of the best games on the planet. For more information, visit www.gamewright.com.
This entry was posted in Artists, jigsaw puzzles, Puzzles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meet the Artist: Jane Wooster Scott

  1. Wind Up Here says:

    Reblogged this on Wind Up Here and commented:
    Working a jigsaw puzzle is a great way to explore a piece of art.

  2. donna says:

    nice interview!

Leave a Reply

