Games With Hayden!

Last year while browsing the Internet, we discovered a unique website. Why was it so different? Because it was a game review site hosted by a kid! This kid game enthusiast is named Hayden, and he was a wee 6-years-old when we stumbled upon his site. Hayden’s passion for games really shines through as he hosts each episode of Games With Hayden. I say he’s a host because all the games reviews are done by videos (or episodes). While there’s no denying he’s absolutely adorable, his reviews are also very thorough and engaging to watch. We happily sent Hayden Gamewright games to review, and he’s now a staple in our yearly press list. Just when we didn’t think Games with Hayden could get any cuter, Hayden’s little brother, Jaxsen (who is just 4 years old), now joins in on reviews (like this one below of Sumo Ham Slam).

I thought you’d like to learn more about Hayden, so here’s an interview with this pint-sized gamer!

How old are you and what grade are you in school?  My name is Hayden and I’m 7 years old, actually 7 1/2.  I am in Mrs. Dixon’s 1st grade class.  My favorite subjects in school are recess, PE, lunch, and then science (in that order).

How old were you when you played your first game? Do you remember what it was? Ummm I don’t know how little I was, but I remember my first favorite game was Memoir 44.  That’s why it’s episode 1 on my website.  (Dad’s answer – I’m pretty sure he was around 4 years old when we caught the gaming bug – his first was probably a Build Your Own Robot game or Orchard).

Hayden editing videos for GamesWithHayden.com

I know your site is all about tabletop games and getting kids away from the television. But, I’m sure many people are curious…Do you ever play or review video games?   Okay I really, really, really like video games.  My favorite game is Pokémon (I’m trying to save up to get one of the Pokémon black/white games for my Nintendo DS).  My parents don’t let me play until I read for 20 minutes.

Do your friends also play card/board/dice games, or do they play video games? Have you introduced your friends to tabletop gaming?  Well my Dad sometimes comes to my classroom and we teach them cool games.  We split up the class and do “learning centers”.  Actually Rory’s Story Cubes is a big hit with my teacher.  But mostly my friends only play video games.

What do your friends think about your website? Are you a celebrity at your school? The people in my class like it, but a lot people at school don’t know about it.

How did you start your website and how long has it been active? Was it your idea?  My Dad helped me with everything; I think we’ve had it for like 5 years. (Dad’s answer: 2 years).

Hayden at GenCon 2010

I know around our office, people look forward to seeing you review our games…Do you get recognized at gaming conventions?  Haha…  well that’s funny.  While I was at GenCon last year people actually stopped to take pictures with me.  Silly people.

Are you going to any conventions this year?   My family doesn’t have any money this year to go to a convention.  But I really want to go to GenCon again, maybe next year.  Oh and I want to check out ChiTaG and/or the New York Toy Fair someday.

Do you have any favorite Gamewright games?  Hands down Forbidden Island…close second is Sumo Ham Slam because it’s so funny. Oh wait…. Tiki Topple, Ring-O Flamingo….aghhhh there’s too many I like.

Any idea what you want to be when you grow up? A game inventor? Do you want to work for a game company? Since you’re already comfortable in front of the camera, would you want to be a news anchor?   Oh man I have no idea, maybe a guy on the movies, a video game designer or a Air Force worker or ??? my mom says I can do whatever I want.

Summer is almost here….what are your plans?   Games, Games, Games, camping.  Summer is awesome.  I’m part of a swim team called the “Gators”.  I’m also going to try out tackle football this summer… wahoo!

***

Thanks for the interview, Hayden. It’s always great to hear about games from a kid’s perspective. If you want to follow Hayden’s game reviews, you can “like” Games with Hayden on Facebook (where he’s nearing 1,000 fans!)

About Gamewright

Gamewright is a leading manufacturer of family games, best known for such household hits as Slamwich, Rat-a-Tat Cat, In a Pickle, Rory's Story Cubes and The Scrambled States of America Game. Gamewright prides itself on making games that foster laughter, learning, friendship and fun. Kids, parents, grandparents, and educators all agree that Gamewright makes some of the best games on the planet. For more information, visit www.gamewright.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Games With Hayden!

  1. Super cool! Our 5 year old daughter Katie also thinks Forbidden Island is pretty awesome! She reviews games at http://growingupgamers.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

