TV Turnoff Week (and a game giveaway!)

Happy TV Turnoff Week! That’s right, April 18-24 is national TV Turnoff Week, as well as school vacation week for many schools. There’s no better way to pass the time than to play some great Gamewright games and tackle a challenging Ceaco jigsaw puzzle! Here are some of my recommendations:

The Baffler is a perfect puzzle for the person looking for a challenge. Each puzzle image is randomly designed and cut in the oddest ways to make it as tricky as possible. The Baffler has no straight edges, no overlapping images and many unique shapes.

Pinkalicious is one of the hottest kid properties on the market, and Ceaco is proud to present a line of jigsaw puzzles based on the best-selling book series, Pinkalicious and Silverlicious. Our line features a 24 piece floor puzzle, a 60 piece glitter puzzle and a 24 piece puzzle and sticker set.

Comic Relief is a wacky cartoon puzzle by artist Robert Crisp. We have an oversized 300 piece and 750 piece puzzle series featuring his art.

Forbidden IslandI know I’ve blogged a lot about Forbidden Island, but it really is a spectacular game and perfect for TV Turnoff Week. Why? Because it’s a cooperative game, (i.e. you’re working together to beat the game, not each other) it has the feel of a video game. It’s perfect for the family that’s struggling to turn off that TV ;)

Sumo Ham Slam: This game is slam packed with action, and you’ll be hearing more about this very silly game in an upcoming post. Plus, you just can’t go wrong with a game that puts sumo wrestling hamsters in the spotlight.

Too Many Monkeys is a card game that will keep you playing round after round. The object is to get your cards in numerical order, 1-6, but there are lots of obstacles along the way (like Elephants, Giraffes and Skip cards). Not sure what I’m writing about? Go pick up a copy of your own and find out! Even better, how about winning a copy of Too Many Monkeys? Here’s our giveaway:

To be entered into our drawing to win a copy of Too Many Monkeys, leave a comment telling us how you typically decide on game purchases. Do you have a favorite game blog that makes recommendations? Are you sold on the box art? Do you have a friend that is an all-knowing Game Guru? Do you see an ad in a magazine or on TV? Let us know! Don’t forget to leave your email address. The winner will be randomly chosen and notified on Tuesday, 4/26/11. Comments must be received by midnight (EST) on 4/25/11.

Good luck! 

About Gamewright

Gamewright is a leading manufacturer of family games, best known for such household hits as Slamwich, Rat-a-Tat Cat, In a Pickle, Rory's Story Cubes and The Scrambled States of America Game. Gamewright prides itself on making games that foster laughter, learning, friendship and fun. Kids, parents, grandparents, and educators all agree that Gamewright makes some of the best games on the planet. For more information, visit www.gamewright.com.
This entry was posted in Contests, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to TV Turnoff Week (and a game giveaway!)

  1. Beth says:

    Oh, this is an easy one. My friend who blogs at babytoolkit.blogspot.com is a game know it all. She knows EVERYTHING about games and I listen to her. Also? Cool Mom Picks. If they feature it, I’m probably going to like it :)

  2. adrienne says:

    For kids and family games, I find new ideas at zrecommends.com and thingamababy.com

    For new adult games, I usually hear about them on Twitter, play a friend’s copy, get advice from game store folks, and/or read about them on the venerable Board Game Geek.

    I strongly respect the gaming opinions of Doc at http://resqueezed.blogspot.com/

  3. Kleimore says:

    I have a friend who has a lot of games, sometimes i try games and if i like it i buy it :)

  4. Amanda says:

    I get most of my information from http://www.boardgamegeek.com for games I want to add to my collection. I will admit that a big seller for me is the box art and game components.

  5. Friends are the most important for recommendations. If they like it I’ll be way more likely to buy. Boardgamegeek is also a great resource.

  6. Karen says:

    I rely on some friends of ours for game advice. They are big gamers and have children who are as well. I love every Gamewright game we have played. Box art doesn’t make me buy or not buy. I am more interested in the content and if the game will have long term interest for our family.

    Thanks for this opportunity!

  7. MrsTMT says:

    We got hooked on GameWright games years ago with and every year I look at their new offerings and usually select one or two new ones to give to my children as Christmas and/or birthday present. We tend to “collect” games and have two very full cabinets with many different kinds.

  8. Jim says:

    I usually hear about stuff on one of my favorite board games podcasts. Some of note include Game On! with Cody and John, The Spiel, On Boardgames, Myriad Games Presentations, The D6 Generation, and the venerable Dice Tower.

    I look up details on specific games on the awesome, if sometimes overwhelming, Board Game Geek.

    I also learn about them from friends, my cousins (who are awesome gamers), and Friendly Local Game Store owners.

  9. Jubilee says:

    If it is Gsmewright game we know it’s good!

  10. Alex says:

    Friends. If we can try it at someone’s house, all the better, but some people have similar taste so we’ll just buy what they like. Honestly we pick a lot up at garage sales so if it doesn’t have batteries, we’ll try anything for 50 cents.

  11. Betsy says:

    Geekdad.com shows a few. There is a great thread on parenthacks.com that just introduced me to a few new ones. Our favorite toy store Picolo Mondo in Beaverton, Oregon has a game lending program and we have purchased quite a few successful games for them (and been ever so thankful for getting a chance to try some losers before wasting money). S0 – websites and the toy store. Thanks.
    And I don’t know how many times I have given Hisss to parents who love games and think their kid can’t play anything yet!

  12. Stephanie says:

    Honestly, I look at what the game is supposed to achieve and whether I think it will last in my family. Sure the art work comes in handy for the kids to go “ooh, mom, that one” but it’s not the tell all factor.
    I didnt realize that there were so many review type websites for games. And since I’m the only one of my friends with kids right now, I’m the test dummy! I’m always on the look out for games that my 8yr, 4yr, and 1yr olds can play. Thanks for these ideas!

  13. Jim says:

    I posted an earlier list (with links) of a whole bunch of board games podcasts that I listen to, but I think the WordPress SPAM filter probably ate it.

    Suffice it to say, there are a bunch of really good podcasts out there that review games and give general ideas on audiences that might enjoy them.

  14. CP says:

    We also love Gamewright games here; we easily have ten in rotation. We also go by the reputation of the company as well as reviews from other families and websites. It would be wonderful if there was a game library we could try games first, especially those games over $20.

  15. Andy says:

    A group of college friends and our families are avid gamers, and gaming is one of the prime activities when we are able to get together. We share game ideas, and that’s how we’ve been introduced to new games. One time we were sitting down being introduced to a new game, and our friends opened a new package and said “We’re sending you home with this game because we know you’ll like it and it’s hard to find.”

  16. Melissa says:

    Word of mouth from parents & kids is key. I also check out NuggetIsland.

  17. skirkham says:

    Usually I choose them based on previous game play with friends or sometimes read about them on blogs / videos and choose based on what I have read or watched. Price can also come into play based on components in the box.
    Shawn (SKirkham [at] triad.rr.com)

  18. Emily steele says:

    We choose games mainly by recommendations of friends. We also read reviews on sites like amazon.

  19. JonC says:

    We’re suckers for games that look cool and have innovative mechanics. We rely on boardgamegeek and the d6 generation for reviews, pictures, etc. Also, certain publishers (such as gamewright) and designers are pretty much go-to for us.

  20. Kim B says:

    We love classic games and Gamewright and Cranium games so those are the ones we buy. We base our purchases on whether or not it sounds like something the kids will enjoy. They all enjoy number games, animal games, building games and moving around games.

  21. Cyrus Kirby says:

    I research all my games before purchase. Most of the time, I read what others have written on Board Game Geek or ask around. Going to your friendly local game store is also a great way to “try before you buy” if they have a demo of the game available.

    It is also is worth mentioning that I follow certain game designers and game companies. Gamewright, for example, has an excellent reputation for publishing fun and fulfilling family games. When I am in the mood or market for these types of games, I come to Gamewright directly.

    Ultimately, I know who I am buying the game for (the family, my little geeks, or for me) and I know what to look for. Game mechanics, presentation, and price point all factor into me deciding whether to purchase the game or not.

    Good luck to everyone on winning this contest!

  22. Mark Jackson says:

    I use a variety of sources – but BGG is probably the biggest influence.

  23. Cathy R says:

    Well, we love Gamewright and a few classics, but use Amazon a lot for research, but I don’t feel like some of the less mainstream games get very good coverage. Need to find some new sources and like some of the above ideas.

  24. Kerensa Ward says:

    I use BGG for game information. We love our Gamewright games, we use them in homeschool and Too Many Monkeys would be a great addition for us.

  25. Sheryl W says:

    I search online looking for games that can be fun and educational :)

  26. Anthea says:

    I usually hear about new games that I want to try from the Dice Tower, the Spiel, Game On with Cody and John, Myriad, or Board Game Geek. There are also some companies that might sell me on just the theme and cover art. I almost always likes games from Gamewright, Days of Wonder, Rio Grande, etc. If a game from a company I like looks interesting and got descent reviews I’ll probably pick it up.

  27. Leilani says:

    For kid games: Parent Hacks and Cool Mom Picks…but I also use amazon for some (basic) research. There are some great sites mentioned in the comments that I plan to try out!

  28. Aaron says:

    BGG is definately a resource. However, Angel and the “Head Minion” @ our local game shop are very strong influences.

    Also, the local game shop has many shop copies and Sunday Family Game time. This lets us take a game for a test drive.

    Oh, I also check out the Mensa Select games – but I don’t always buy them.

Leave a Reply

